Work Orders uses a series of Roles which contain specific Permissions to determine what aspects of the system a user can access and what they can do. Each district can create custom names of the roles which they want to use and assign the appropriate permissions.
For example: The Role of "Teacher" should be given Permission to submit a work order, but not assign that work order to facilities staff, etc.
To set this up while logged in as an Admin in Work Orders:
1. Select Users Manage Roles.
2. To add a new Role, click the button or to edit an existing Role, select the Edit icon (
)
The Manage Role page will be displayed.
3. Give the Role a name and assign the necessary Permissions.
Request Permissions:
- Add Inventory to WOs - Gives the User the ability to add inventory items to work orders
- Approve on Behalf of Others - Users can approve a work order for another user.
- Note: If a user has this permission and submits a work order while on an approval path the work order will be pending step 1.
- Approve WOs – Can approve work order requests
- Assign WOs to Others – Can assign work orders to other users
- Note: If you have this permission checked, you will need to make sure you have the applicable role(s) selected in the "Can Assign WO To" dropdown.
- Note: If you have this permission checked, you will need to make sure you have the applicable role(s) selected in the "Can Assign WO To" dropdown.
- Associate WOs with Project - Can assign a Work Order to a Project
- Bypass Approval - When a user has "Bypass Approval", they should see a checkbox labeled "Require Approval on this Work Order" above the submit work order button. The checkbox is checked by default. - If you uncheck this and click submit, it will automatically approve the work order.
- Can be Assigned WOs – Can be assigned work orders to perform work
- Can Submit Request on Half of Others - Allows the user to enter a work order on behalf of another staff member
- Cancel Work Order - User can cancel work orders
- Close WOs – Can officially close out a Work Order, and will automatically be notified of completed work orders. A pop-up will display once this is checked off.
Note: Enabling the Close WOs permission will send an email to any user with this role any time a Request is marked as complete. You do not need to enable this permission if you only want to allow users to complete Requests. The "Close WOs" permission is used for those districts that have a two-step closing process (the technician completes the Request and it notifies a supervisor to review and officially close it out).
- Complete WOs on Behalf of Others – Can complete work orders that are assigned to other users
- Edit WOs – Can edit work order information
- Enter Asset on WOs – Can link assets (Equipment) to work orders
- Enter Assigned Assets on WOs – Can link assets (Equipment) to work orders if the assets are assigned to the user
- Enter Budget Code on WOs – Can enter budget code information on work orders
- Enter Labor and Pruchases on WOs – Can enter labor hours on work orders as well as purchase cost information
- Enter Purpose on WOs – Can enter a purpose for work orders
- Manage Projects - Can manage projects within the system
- Reroute Work Order - User has the ability to reroute a Work Order for additional approval
- Submit Work Order - Can submit work orders
- View All WOs – Can view all work orders at a specific building
- View Labor and Purchases Report – Can access the work order labor report as well as the purchase report
- View WO Report – Can access the Work Order Report
Asset Permissions:
- Add Asset: Allows the user to add an asset to the system
- Can Import Assets: Import assets from a spreadsheet
- Delete Asset: Allows the user to delete assets
- Edit Asset: Allows the user to edit all asset information
- Edit Asset Building: Allows the user to edit the building field on an asset
- Edit Asset Name: Allows the user to edit the name field on an asset
- Edit Asset Space: Allows the user to edit the space field on an asset
- Edit Assigned User: Allows the user to edit the Assigned User field on an asset
- Edit Barcode: Allows the user to edit the barcode field on an asset
- Edit Serial number: Allows the user to edit the serial number field on an asset
- Inactivate Asset: Allows the user to inactivate an asset
- View Assets: Allows the user to view assets
- View Binders: Allows the user to view binders associated with the asset (must have a Facilities Binders subscription)
- View Drawings: Allows the user to view drawings associated with an asset on the Asset details page (must have Facilities Drawings)
Inventory Permissions:
- Add Inventory: Gives the User the ability to add inventory items to the system
- Approve Inventory Requests on Behalf of Others - User can approve Inventory Requests pending somebody else.
- Can be Assigned Inventory Requests - User can be assigned to complete an inventory request
- Complete Inventory Requests on Behalf of Others - User can complete inventory requests that are assigned to other users
- Edit Inventory: Gives User the ability to Add, Edit, or Adjust inventory items
- Request Inventory - Can request inventory items
- View Inventory: Gives the User the ability to view inventory items, but does not allow them to edit these items.
- View Inventory Reports - User can access the Inventory Reports
- View Inventory Requests - User can see all Inventory Requests associated with their building.
Preventative Maintenance Permissions:
- Manage PMs: User can add or edit PM Schedules
- View PMs: User can view PM Schedules
Issue Permissions:
- Manage Issues: User can add or edit Issues
- View PMs: User can view Issues
Charges Permissions:
- Manage Charges: User can add, edit and delete Charges
- View Charges: User can view Charges
Knowledge Base Article Permissions:
- Manage Knowledge Base Articles: Browse and read published articles based on the assigned asset type and request type restrictions for their role.
- View Knowledge Base Articles: Create, edit, delete, and update article status.
4. Repeat Steps 1 - 3 for any other Roles you would like to set up.
History Tracking
On the top right of the edit roles page there is a "View History" Button that tracks all permission updates, when they happened and who performed those updates.
Select to view changes made to this role.
NOTE: Tracking for role updates will be on a go-forward basis starting May 5th, 2025
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.